Gernor Rohr Release Super Eagles 24-man Squad For 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers

Nigeria Super Eagles manager Gernor Rohr has released his 24-man team squad for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying fixture against the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone this month. Follow thescoreng for the live coverage of AFCON qualifiers.

In the full list, goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, defenders Leon Balogun and Olaoluwa Aina, midfielder Wilfred Ndidi and forwards Alex Iwobi and Victor Osimhen in the list of three goalkeepers, eight defenders, five midfielders and eight forwards.

Germany –based defender Kingsley Ehizibue, on the books of FC Koln, and Holland –based forward Cyril Dessers have been called up for the first time, while England – Leicester City forward Kelechi Iheanacho returns to the team.

Nigeria, on maximum 6 points from their first two matches of the campaign and in somewhat comfortable lead in their pool, host the Leone Stars at the Stephen Keshi Stadium in Asaba on Friday, 27th March, before flying to Freetown to confront the Stars at the Siaka Stevens Stadium in the return four days later.

All invited players, as well as technical and administrative officials, are to report in the Delta State capital on Monday, 23rd March.

Victory in both games will virtually guarantee Nigeria a spot at the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations scheduled for Cameroon early next year, ahead of their away clash to Benin Republic in Porto Novo in June and home tie against Lesotho early September.

Super Eagles 24-man Squad

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC), Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain), Leon Balogun (Wigan Athletic, England), Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain), William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy), Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy), Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany), Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England), Kingsley Ehizibue (FC Koln, Germany)

Midfielders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey), Etebo Oghenekaro (Getafe FC, Spain), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia), Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England), Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France), Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain), Cyril Dessers (Heracles Almelo, Netherlands), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France).

Post a Comment