Full list of players with awards winner in AFCON 2023

AFCON 2023 came to an end on Sunday evening as host country Ivory Coast came from behind to beat Nigeria 2-1. William Troost-Ekong scored the opening goal. Franck Kessie equalized then Sebastien Haller scored the winner to clinch the trophy for Ivory Coast. However, here is the full list of players that won individual prizes as Nwabali was ditched:

Best AFCON Player

Nigeria defender William Troost-Ekong was named the best player of the tournament following his remarkable performance as he finished the tournament with three goals, the highest for a defender. According to football experts, it was well deserved.

Best AFCON Goalkeeper

South Africa goalkeeper Ronwen Williams won the best goalkeeper award over Nigerian Stanley Nwabali following his remarkable performance in the penalty shootout both in the quarter-finals and in the battle for the third place which South Africa claimed.

AFCON Golden Boot

Equatorial Guinea striker Emilio Nsue won the Puma Golden Boot as he finished the tournament with the highest goals (5). He will be happy with what he achieved.

Post a Comment